Coming of Age and Coming Out

Growing up is hard to do, especially when you don’t fit in.

 Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking.

Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

The New York Times Best-selling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Discussion Guide: http://bangbangbookblog.com/2015/09/06/ill-give-the-sun-discussion-questions/

Love it? Read more (Click to buy)

This Printz Honor Book is a tender, honest exploration of identity (“Publishers Weekly”) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship.
Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Discussion Guide: http://txla.org/sites/tla/files/groups/YART/docs/2014SPOTHigh-Saenz_BookDiscussionQuestions.pdf

Set in rural Montana in the early 1990s, emily m. danforth’s The Miseducation of Cameron Post is a powerful and widely acclaimed YA coming-of-age novel in the tradition of the classic Annie on My Mind.Cameron Post feels a mix of guilt and relief when her parents die in a car accident. Their deaths mean they will never learn the truth she eventually comes to that she’s gay. Orphaned, Cameron comes to live with her old-fashioned grandmother and ultraconservative aunt Ruth. There she falls in love with her best friend, a beautiful cowgirl. When she’s eventually outed, her aunt sends her to God’s Promise, a religious conversion camp that is supposed to cure her homosexuality. At the camp, Cameron comes face to face with the cost of denying her true identity.The Miseducation of Cameron Post is a stunning and provocative literary debut that was a finalist for the YALSA Morris Award and was named to numerous best lists.

Discussion Guide: http://files.harpercollins.com/HCChildrens/OMM/Media/Miseducation%20of%20Cameron%20Post%20BCG.pdf

Published by

Christine Thomas Alderman

Writer, reader, educator. Read with me here and follow my writing journey at www.facebook.com/christinethomasaldermanauthor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s